Saying Goodbye…

Our trip is coming to end. I am writing this as I lay on the bed in a hotel in Delhi. Only a few hours until we leave and head to the airport and head back to The States. It is bittersweet because I miss my family and friends and I am excited to start student teaching but I am so sad because I already miss my students at Vidyashilp. I had such a great time in Bangalore and this trip was life changing. I learned so much about myself and who I want to be as a teacher. I will be forever grateful to everyone who made it possible to come on this trip including Mr. and Mrs. Smith, my parents, and my grandma. I will also be attached to Bangalore for my whole life. They truly have a piece of my heart now and I am so happy I got to come here at this point in my life.

Our last week was jam packed with things to do and classes to see. Everyday at school I was running around the whole time trying to make it to every class I could possibly get to. Many of the kids would come up to me and tell me that I hadn’t been to their class yet and they knew it was almost time for me to go home. I had to explain to them that I had limited time and I wouldn’t be able to make it to every class but I would miss each and everyone of them. I did the best I could but I realized I would not be able to be in five places at once.

13900241_10210611235623046_5533549813361914187_nOn the last day we started with an assembly where Liz and I got to speak. I wrote a letter to the student body and I was able to read it to everyone. It was hard to read it to everyone because I was a little choked up. When I read the letter it became more real and it hit me that I was actually leaving. After the assembly I went to the aerobics class that I usually go to. The girls and I became very close over the six weeks and they threw us a party with cake and chips and everything! A few of the girls made a puppet show and solo dances to perform for us. It hit me right in the heart. Several of th
e girls I’m closest with, Avika, Kinishka, and 13935039_10210611209462392_2011604437246417880_nPaulak, in the aerobics class started balling when I read my thank you letter to their specific class and it really got me.  Paulak, one of the girls who I have been with since day one, got me a book. In fact the amount of presents, notes, and candy I got from the students was overwhelming. It made me realize how much I can make an impact in such a short amount of time. It made me feel so special and appreciated which is interesting because it’s exactly the same way I feel about all of them. By the end of the day I was emotional and did not want to say my final goodbyes. But the time came anyways and I gave my last hugs to my kiddos, teachers, and Selvi.

13913841_10210632040703160_6504738208173247735_oWe didn’t have a lot of time to be sad though because we had to finish packing and the next morning we flew to Delhi! Today we saw the Taj Mahal: one of the seven wonders of the world. It was a scorcher but it was incredible. The history behind is so interesting to me. I can’t even put into words how breathtaking it was, and not just because of the heat! It is all marble, and symmetrical besides when the Kings tomb was added when he died. The precision it would take is unfathomable. It took two years to plan what it was going to be and twenty-two years to build. The original plan was to have the white Taj on one side of the river and a black Taj on the other side of the river: one for the wife and one for the husband. It did not work out but we are left with one of the most amazing pieces of architecture in the world. After seeing it, it is no surprise it is considered one of the seven wonders. It was a very unique experience and I am so glad I got to end my trip with some of my best friends seeing such a wonderful sight.

 

Thank everyone who kept up with my blog and followed my journey. It means so much to me to share this with other people.

My journey to Missouri begins,

Maddie

Author: maddiesmallblog

I am about to be a senior at the University of Missouri. I will begin student teaching in the fall, and I am beyond excited. This opportunity to travel abroad and gain priceless experience teaching and learning from other people is so important to me. I will take the knowledge I get in India and apply it to my everyday life, whether thats teaching or otherwise. Going to India and teaching abroad has been a dream come true and I look forward to sharing my experience with everyone.

Leave a Reply

