A Farewell to Magnolia

It’s unbelievable to think after 6 weeks with the staff and students of AECS my time with them has come to an end. I went into my last day of teaching with a heavy heart, but grateful to have one last chance to say thank you to everyone who made my experience so wonderful. When I arrived at school the students were already begging me to stay just a day or two more. One student insisted that I stay until her birthday and stay with her at her family’s home. While I had to sadly decline this offer, I was flattered to see the kindness of my students. I was showered with letters and well wishes all day long. My folder I have kept for notes from the students nearly doubled in size in this last day. I made sure to make time to visit each and every class I had been a part of at one point or another throughout my time at Magnolia. I chatted with them, learned with them and ultimately had to say goodbye to them.
The hardest goodbye would have to be my students in class 3E. I have worked with these students in particular quite closely since my first day. The bond I have created with these students has far exceeded anything I had anticipated coming into this experience. These students are some of the most kind, intelligent and fun students I have had the pleasure of knowing. At the end of the day, I found myself in class 3E receiving a long and drawn out group hug. The students wanted me to promise I would come back and visit them. I assured them that I would do everything in my power to make this happen. On their way out, I asked each student what they wanted to be when they grew up. Answers ranged from being a dancer to being a scientist. It brought me so much happiness to hear these students aspirations, as I know they can make them all a reality.
After school, the staff of Magnolia threw us a farewell celebration. I was lucky enough to get to speak at this celebration to be able to thank the staff for making my time at Magnolia so unforgettable. I even got to sing a song for the teachers that Lakshmi Ma’am taught me, which was in Hindi. This step out of my comfort zone reminded me of just how far I have come from the beginning of this experience. We wrapped up the celebration the best way we knew how, a dance party. We blasted Indian music and the teachers taught me all kinds of new dance moves that will surely be a hit back in the States. It was bittersweet to say goodbye to the teachers at the end. I realized what incredible role models these women had been to me and how lucky I was to have had them as a mentor and friend. We hugged goodbye and promised to keep in touch, a promise I fully plan to keep.
Thank you AECS Magnolia for being such an incredible home to me for the past six weeks. Especially, thank you to Dr. Seema for allowing me this opportunity to be a part of this school and forever impacting my future in education.

MAG

Leave a Reply

