Parent’s Day Pandemonium

Two words can summarize my week at school, Parent’s Day. Parent’s Day is a program that each class puts on to showcase their accomplishments in academics and the arts. Each day of the week, there has been three sessions of Parent’s Day programs, each one specific to a particular class. The three of us hosted by Magnolia were asked to attend these sessions and speak about our experience thus far to the parents in attendance. It has been a great opportunity to get to meet some of these parents and share about my last three weeks at the school. I was happy to take the opportunity to tell them how proud they should be of their children. The children at AECS are so internally motivated to learn and focused on their studies, this is something I haven’t seen as much of in the United States. I think the parents were happy to hear how impressive their students were.
In addition to getting to speak at these Parent’s Day sessions, I also got to see the students perform songs, dances and skits. This was by far my favorite part. It was evident how much time and effort these students put into memorizing lines, lyrics and dance moves. Each time I sat through the program I loved to watch the parents light up and whip out their phone to record as their son or daughter had their special part in the event. The kids were just as proud to be able to show their parents the fruits of their labors from all of the hours of practice they put into making this show a success. The teachers also deserve a big shout out for coordinating the program, helping students with their lines and being amazing hosts. I am sure that a lot of blood, sweat and tears went into organizing the event and it certainly showed.
When I was not taking part in a Parent’s Day program, I was sitting in on Parent’s Day rehearsal for my 3rd and 4th standard students. The skit they have chosen to perform for their program on Saturday is about the issue of child labor in India. The skit is very deep and informative, it teaches the audience about the dangers of child labor and educates them on what they can do to remedy the issue. I am pleasantly surprised about how the students are dealing with the subject matter and taking their roles seriously. It is great to see this group of young people taking a stand on such an important issue. In the moments between rehearsals I have been telling the students about life in the States. They were fascinated when I told them about the difference in the schooling between India and America. Particularly the fact that in the younger grades you only have one teacher for all the core subjects. I almost got trampled when I pulled out a five dollar bill to show them. They had a million questions, which I am more than happy to field for them. I’ve had such a blast working with this intelligent and incredibly fun group of students. To wrap up, I’ll leave you all with a list of some of my favorite questions I’ve received about America this week.
-Do you have Monopoly in the United States?
-Have you acted in Hollywood?
-Why do Americans have American names?
-What language do you speak in America?
-Why don’t they play cricket in America?

Leave a Reply

