Health Care Adventures

I have spent so much time here in Bangalore pushing myself 150mph and wanting to experience everything I can. All of that fun activity came to a abrupt halt Wednesday the 13th of July. That evening I started to feel uneasy. My tummy had been bothering me the past couple of days and now I was freezing when previously I was comfortable in our air conditioned room. One of my migraines crept over me and by 9:30pm I was feeling very ill. I was letting my anxiety take over my thoughts and eventually it led to a panic attack. I have not had one in so long so I failed to bring my medicine with me to India. I found Jill, and being the angel that she is, she helped calm me and gave me big hugs. Sometimes a hug can cure anything. That night was a struggle to get through. I was shivering and chattering my teeth. Unfortunately, I ran out of blankets. I resorted to piling up my towels on my bed because I wanted to be able to sleep. That did not work either. I was still up every two hours and by 6am I woke up in a cold sweat. Assuming my fever broke I was able to sleep for another hour before Jill came to check on me. She took my temperature and I had another fever which solidified me not going to school that day. Jill brought me some toast to get something in my system before she left for school. I was so sad because I did not want to disappoint anyone at Vidyashilp but I knew I better go to the doctor to figure out what was going on.

Suman took me to Vikram hospital around 10am and we realized that the doctor did not arrive until 11am. By this time, I was miserable and sweaty. My migraine raged on, my fever broke again so I was unnaturally hot, and my tummy was not happy with me. We decided the best bet was to go to the ER. I got in immediately which I was not expecting because in the US even in the ER it takes quite some time to get seen. I was taken to a bed and described my situation to several nurses and doctors. They all advised me to get some IV fluids, and they wanted a blood sample. Quickly enough I was hooked up to an IV and resting until my blood work came back. In the meantime I was examined by several doctors. They thought my symptoms suggested I had eaten something bad which caused an infection in my stomach but since I let it go for a few days, it got worse which resulted in a fever. Finally, I was able to rest while the doctors discussed what they were going to do and waiting for my results. It seemed like ages before I got my blood work back but when I did, it showed that I had a bad bacterial infection and severe dehydration. The doctors decided I needed more fluids and antibiotics so they started two doses of the medicine in my IV for quick relief.

After three hours or so I was leaving the hospital with a folder full of directions to follow. I had four different medications that would get me to feeling better. They wanted me to be admitted to the hospital but I wanted to go to the Coorg and Mysore trip with the group so I decided to take the oral medicine and promise to hydrate myself as best I could. When we left I was still feeling very weak and tired but my fever and migraine were gone. When I got home I rested until I met with Tony. We decided that it would be best for my health if I stay home for part of the weekend and meet the group in Mysore. Reluctantly, I agreed because even though I was dying to see the elephants and Coorg I needed to put my health first.

What was so surprising to me was the difference in the health care here in India. I have had my fair share of medical bills this past year in The States because I had surgery and several appointments leading up to and following the procedure. I dread going to another appointment because I know how expensive health care is, and even with insurance the bills continue to grow. Going to the hospital here, I was expecting the same amount and was unsure how I was going to cover everything. When they told me the total and I converted it to American dollars it was under $100. From the ER visit, consult, IV fluids, IV antibiotics, medicines I took home, etc. all of it was an affordable price without a single bit of insurance. It got me thinking that this is how I wish The States handled their health care. The Indians are very well educated and are extremely intelligent doctors. They are just as capable if not more as the doctors in The States. Health care should be affordable for everyone even if they do not have insurance. One visit to the ER is thousands of dollars and it makes me sick to my stomach thinking that if I needed emergency care I would sacrifice being in debt. I do not know what there is to do about it, but it would be nice if someone could figure it out. I am sure everyone would appreciate it.

As of now I am feeling much better and still on my medication so I heal fully. I was lucky enough to see the Mysore Palace light up and it was so beautiful. I am still taking it easy until I feel 100% again. But I am not going to miss out on anything else! I am determined to stay hydrated and healthy so I can experience everything.

Until next time,

Maddie

 

Author: maddiesmallblog

I am about to be a senior at the University of Missouri. I will begin student teaching in the fall, and I am beyond excited. This opportunity to travel abroad and gain priceless experience teaching and learning from other people is so important to me. I will take the knowledge I get in India and apply it to my everyday life, whether thats teaching or otherwise. Going to India and teaching abroad has been a dream come true and I look forward to sharing my experience with everyone.

Leave a Reply

