What a Weekend Pt. 2

This Sunday was a hard day for me. I woke up around 5am and felt extremely sick. I decided not to go for the jeep ride and hike that the rest of the group went on that morning. From around 6-9am I got sick about 15 times and waited for the group to get home. Suman, my saving grace, decided to take me to the Coorg hospital after their trip. I was dizzy, nauseous, and ready for any medicine the hospital would give me. As I was walking into the emergency room crying, a kind lady said something to me in a language I did not understand and put her hand on my face and smiled. Weirdly, this made me feel a lot better as I was missing my mom being extremely sick almost 9,000 miles away from home. When I got to the emergency room I was immediately put into bed and given IV fluids and antibiotics. After 30 minutes or so I started to feel better and was grateful for the Coorg hospital.
We were supposed to leave for Mysore on the bus that afternoon so we went back to the hotel and got my bag then met the bus at a restaurant the rest of the group was eating at. Luckily one of the teachers from Magnolia, Sowmya, and her husband were on their way back home from Coorg as well so they told me I could lay in the backseat of their car instead of having to ride in the bus if I got sick again. So three hours later I woke up and was in Mysore EXTREMELY grateful for Sowmya, her husband, and Suman for taking care of me. That is one of the things about Indian culture that I love, they really know how to take care of people.
That night I was laying in bed trying to hydrate myself and started to feel a little bit worse. I took my temperature and it was at 101.4 degrees. Luckily, Maddie, who had been sick a few days before, had fever reducing medicine and lent me some so a few hours later I felt better and eventually fell asleep.

This morning (Monday) I felt a thousand times better and am glad to be back on my feet.

Later on this morning we were able to visit the Regional Institute of Education in Mysore (RIE). This is a college for students to receive their Bachelors of Education or B. Ed as they call it here in India. This is equivalent to the College of Education at the University of Missouri. While at the Institute we were able to meet some of the professors and then interact with some of the students. We split into group to discuss some questions that our professors gave us.


Through our interactions we discussed what it meant to teach our future students to be global citizens. We also talked about what the role of a teacher looked like. Some of the points we discussed include the following:

– In order to make sure our students are global citizens, we need to make sure we, their teachers, are global citizens

– It is hard to become a global citizen through a textbook, experience is critical

– It is important to bring different culture’s ideas and beliefs into the classroom and discuss them so students learn how to understand and respect them

– Global citizenship is highly based on educating oneself on as many cultures, religions, and backgrounds as possible

– Educating our students to be curious about travel and others that are different from them is crucial

After discussing I got to take pictures with some people in my group and even add some of them on What’sApp so we could talk while I am back home in the US. They were all eager to hear about the education system in America and how it differs from their own. It was such a cool experience to get to talk to fellow future teachers in India and to get to see their perspective on global citizenship and what it means to be a good teacher. I am very grateful for this opportunity and I’ll remember it forever.

Despite my sickness this weekend was amazing and I am eager to get to school this week to see my kiddos and teachers at DPS-North!


Until next time,

Sickly Sarah

Leave a Reply

