Let the testing begin.

Me
Explored the Lalbagh Botanical Gardens. 

Today, the 7th standard math classes are taking an assessment. I had the chance to witness how the students behaved and performed while testing. For the first few minutes, their teacher stayed to make any clarifications. The students frantically repeated, “Ma’am, ma’am, ma’am!” until they had their question answered. You could see the intensity in their eyes and feel in the air just how badly they wanted to do well. When their teacher left the room, anxiety started to fill the room as their chance to ask questions has come to an end. Luckily since I was observing this class period, I was able to answer any questions or concerns that they may have had. The anxiety in the room began to fade and was replaced with a sense of relief.

I am grateful for the opportunity to witness the testing environment in Magnolia Public School. It is interesting to compare and contrast from what I experienced as a student and now what I have witnessed as a preservice teacher.

Although we have had plenty of new and exciting experiences from venturing through the city of Bangalore, my favorite part of any day is the part in which I am with the students. Being in the classroom is when I feel most at home. My first day at Magnolia was filled with anticipation and apprehension for what was to come. However, the moment I met my first teacher and entered the classroom, I felt at ease. I don’t think I will ever get sick of the students standing up and greeting me in unison with, “Good morning, ma’am!”

This is my first full week in which we will be in the classrooms and I could not feel more overjoyed. So far, I have taught a tad bit here and there but I am ready to dive in. The past few days that I have been at a Magnolia, I feel as though I have learned a great deal from the wonderful teachers and students that I have gotten the pleasure to work with. But now, I would like to display what I have learned from my time at Mizzou. Learning in not a one way street. I feel as though just as much as I have learned so far, I also have much to share with the teachers and students of Magnolia.

As soon as today’s testing is over, I am excited to start something new and hopefully get some more time in front of the classroom, where I feel most comfortable! Here’s to a wonderful second week of teaching!

Leave a Reply

